Astronauts And Moon Pies

 

If Only I Listened To Mom

If Only I Listened To Mom

 

I am a humble Renaissance Man. Inventive and creative ideas are thrust at me like stones from outer space. Fortunately I am able to shield my brain quite effectively with a large screen plasma TV. 

 

Heh, I wish I had a plasma TV. I only have your standard 32in. table monster. “Large Screen Plasma TV” does make for a better read, don’t ya think? Anyhow; I am happily and completely married to my dear, lovely wife Patsy. We have 8 kids and 4 grand children between us. (Mostly the grand kids are between us on the couch).

 

Growing up I always had a dream of becoming a Food Network Star. My Mother, bless her heart had a different vision for me. Astronaut. That’s right she was under the impression that I should be going to the moon and other daring missions in space.

 

I do believe this all started when I was in the third grade. One afternoon she and I were at the food market shopping for the family dinner needs, when we ran into my third grade teacher, Mrs. Smith, really that was her name.

 

Mother and she exchanged the usual pleasantries when my mom followed up with this question, “So how is Duke doing in school?” She was very pleased when Mrs. Smith replied with, “He’s taking up space”.

 

Sorry mom, I never made it to the moon. I did eat a Moon Pie once though.

 

I love and miss you.

13 Responses to “Astronauts And Moon Pies”

  1. You’re out of control, man! :P

  2. Pretty clever with your words. Maybe I got that from you, too. I steal all your stuff. Change, ideas, inventions, dreams. Ya know, the basics.

    I just want to say that I am really enjoying your blog. I am very impressed! I can’t wait to see more videos! You know, I do have an awesome pic of you in a wheel chair. That should be your main pic!

    Cherish L DesRochers

  3. Yep, you just take up space, my cousin. :D Excellent! You are seriously out of control.

    We’re going to get Cherish a blog next. Are you ready, girl!

  4. Oh, I have one…but it’s not very exciting. It’s compiled of random stories and dark depressing poetry. lol I will start blogging more, soon. Every thing I had posted was from another blog that I deleted. All I have to do is write about all the mindless things I do. : )

  5. Duke…this is an excellent story and awesome entry! Will be keeping my eyes peeled for you on tv!!

  6. Duke DesRochers Says:

    Thank you for your kind words and Merry Christmas

  7. Connie Barrett Says:

    Far out & totally Dukey!

  8. [...] how he thinks differently from most people, Duke explains with a great sense of humor in “Astronauts And Moon Pies:” I am a humble Renaissance Man. Inventive and creative ideas are thrust at me like stones [...]

  9. [...] how he thinks differently from most people, Duke explains with a great sense of humor in “Astronauts And Moon Pies:” I am a humble Renaissance Man. Inventive and creative ideas are thrust at me like stones [...]

  10. [...] how he thinks differently from most people, Duke explains with a great sense of humor in “Astronauts And Moon Pies:” I am a humble Renaissance Man. Inventive and creative ideas are thrust at me like stones [...]

  11. [...] how he thinks differently from most people, Duke explains with a great sense of humor in “Astronauts And Moon Pies:” I am a humble Renaissance Man. Inventive and creative ideas are thrust at me like stones [...]

  12. [...] finally, from another blog I stumbled [...]

  13. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who was doing
    a little research on this. And he in fact ordered me
    breakfast due to the fact that I found it for him… lol.
    So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!

    But yeah, thanx for spending time to talk about this topic here on your website.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

